Rotary Celebrates Students in the Arts

On May 7, the Sturgeon Bay Breakfast Rotary Club recognized local high school students with its 21st Rotary Fine Arts Awards of Excellence. Teachers at all five Door County high schools could nominate a student in each of six arts areas: instrumental music, choral music, visual art, drama, forensics and journalism.  

Sevastopol honorees were Reese Schauske, instrumental music; Lucas Apsey, choral music; Scott Derkez, visual art; Sean Eicher, drama; and Teagan Ellefson, journalism. Gibraltar awardees were Thelonious Goode, instrumental music; Nick Davis, choral music; Bekka Porter, drama; Emerson Lecy, forensics; and Makenzie Koehler, journalism. From Southern Door, the award recipients were Beyounce Hernandez, instrumental music; Zachery Rhoads, choral music; Emily Purdy, visual art; Gary Barta, drama; Michael Nessinger, forensics; and Amanda Austin, journalism. Sturgeon Bay teachers selected Ainsley Stephan, instrumental music; Noelia Sanchez Rodriquez, choral music; Rayna Hoffman, visual art; and Ian Clay Estes, drama.

Related Organizations