Students Honored at Rotary Fine Arts Award Luncheon

Recipients of the 2015 Rotary Fine Arts Award of Excellence are: Garrett Paider, Michael Baker, Raven Brenneke, Carli Tebo, Madeline Jilot, Madeline LeClair, Quinlyn Mann, Maggie Behm, Lily Birmingham, Christopher Mydra, Connor MacDonald, Evan Board, Cara Reisen, Cameron Krishka, Rachel Seizer, Jessamy Tremper, Abby Thiede, David Bicoy, Emilie Jorns-Frisque and Judith Greif. Submitted photo.

Twenty students outstanding in instrumental and choral music, drama, forensics, art and journalism in Door County high schools were honored May 19 at the Sturgeon Bay Breakfast Rotary Club’s 14th Annual Fine Arts Award Luncheon. The guest speaker was Rev. Don Stannard, a former Sturgeon Bay pastor and the club member who initiated the Fine Arts Award program in Door County. He showed a number of the duck decoys and other carved pieces he began as a hobby in retirement to emphasize how participation in the arts can add enrichment throughout life.