2018 Mariner Awards Announced

Eighteen iconic figures in the rich maritime history of the Door Peninsula and three local Coast Guardsmen were honored at the annual Mariner Award Dinner held at the Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club on Aug. 7.

A joint effort by the Door County Maritime Museum (DCMM) and Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club, the Mariner Award is presented annually to recognize individuals who have had significant, positive and lasting impact on the Door County maritime community. One living and at least one deceased recipient are honored each year. The living nominees for the 2018 Mariner Award were Martha Burress, Dennis Hickey, Bill Parsons, Ken Schmidke, William “Curly” Selvick, Leathem “Tim” Stearn, Todd Thayse, Joel & Mary Ann Blahnik and Bill Schoendorf. Nominees in the posthumous award category were Clifford B. Hart, Ingar Olsen, George K. Pinney, John Thenell, Arthur Zuehlke, Increase Claflin, Col. John Miller, W.F. Wickman and Asa Thorpe.

Nominees for the Sturgeon Bay Area Coast Guard Person of the Year were also honored at the dinner. This award recognized a local active duty Coast Guardsman who exemplifies the Coast Guard’s core values. This year’s nominees were: Chief Warrant Officer Gregory Tarker, USCGC Mobile Bay; Marine Science Technician 1st Class Harold Rissman, USCG Marine Safety Detachment; and Petty Officer Robert Walsh, Coast Guard Canal Station Sturgeon Bay.

The 2018 Mariner Award living nominee went to Ken Schmidtke and posthumous honors went to Ingar Olsen and George K. Pinney. Petty Officer First Class Harold Rissman was this year’s Coast Guard Person of the Year.

Related Organizations

Article Comments