Girls Basketball: Pluff Earns 3rd All-conference Award

Gibraltar’s Payton Pluff has been named to the Packerland Conference all conference girls basketball first team for the third time.

Pluff, a unanimous choice, averaged 18.2 and 8.4 rebounds for the 16-7 Vikings. Gibraltar finished second to Kewaunee in the conference standings with a 12-4 record, and made it to the Division 5 regional finals before falling to Hilbert. Pluff broke Makenna Ash’s school scoring record late in the season and finished her career with 1,277 points.

“It’s very rewarding to know that my hard work was noticed by all of the coaches,” said Pluff who will attend University of Wisconsin-Green Bay in the fall and major in nursing. “It really means a lot.”

Joining Pluff on the first team is teammate Abbi Sitte. The junior point guard scored 9.9 points, grabbed 5.3 rebounds and dished out 5.4 assists per game.

Gibraltar’s Abbigael Sitte (in white) slices through the lane in a December game against Peshtigo. Sitte leads the conference in assists at 5.4 per game. Photo by Len Villano.

“We always talk about Abbi driving the bus,” Gibraltar coach Josh Kropuenske said. “She’s the one who set the tempo and can put the defense on its heels with her dribble penetration. Plus she has great court vision.”

Southern Door’s Tehya Bertrand and Grace LeGrave were named to the second team, along with Sarah Bridenhagen from Sturgeon Bay and Zoe Kuehn from Sevastopol. Gibraltar’s Bria Caldecott, Kayla Follingstad and Karlee Kita were named named honorable mention, along with Hailey Shimon from Southern Door and Sturgeon Bay’s Brenna Zuhlke.

Kewaunee’s Sara Dax was named player of the year. The senior standout averaged 21.4 points and 8.8 rebounds for the conference champions.

First Team

Mara Allen, Oconto, Senior Unanimous
Sarah Dax, Kewaunee, Senior Unanimous
Makayla Guilette Algoma Senior
Payton Pluff Gibraltar Senior Unanimous
Abbi Sitte Gibraltar Junior
Mackenzie Tlahac Kewaunee Senior

Second Team

Lianna Baxter, Peshtigo, Freshman
Tehya Bertrand, Southern Door, Senior
Sarah Bridenhagen, Sturgeon Bay, Junior
Zoe Kuehn, Sevastopol, Sophomore
Grace LeGrave, Southern Door, Senior
Afton Wenger, NEW Lutheran, Senior

Honorable Mention

Bria Caldecott, Gibraltar, Senior
Madison Feld, Algoma, Senior
Kayla Follingstad, Gibraltar, Senior
Sidney Gullicksen, Peshtigo, Senior
Jenna Hornblad, Oconto, Junior
Karlee Kita, Gibraltar, Sophomore
Katie Metzler, Kewaunee, Junior
Ashley Pawlitzky, Kewaunee, Junior
Hailey Shimon, Southern Door,Sophomore
Hannah Wiese, Algoma, Sophomore
Brenna Zuehlke, Sturgeon Bay, Senior

Player of the Year
Sarah Dax Kewaunee Senior

Related Organizations